Safe in Seoul!

Greetings blog and netizens of the world! I’ve returned safely back to my home in Seoul with my beautiful wife! It was an awesome trip being back in my home country, but alas, time for vacation to end and time for cash flow to recommence. I haven’t been quite as diligent as I intended to be with the two classes I’m currently taking, mostly because of serious jet lag and lack of WiFi on the trip from Boston to Tokyo. Aside from that, it was an uneventful trip back, and Hyemi and I are planning to return to Japan sometime in the near future to see some sights and discover new things together. We’re thinking of going to either Fukoka, a southern coastal city, or up north and go to some bathhouses and stay at some Ryokan (traditional Japanese inn).

The last couple of days were fairly uneventful. I took an accidental 7 hour nap yesterday afternoon (thanks jet lag!) and today volunteered teaching English to underprivileged kids. I totally forgot that kids like to do things quickly, so even in my time confused brain, I shifted my strategy from the “in-depth” approach of looking at vocab / structure from many different angles, to doing a “fast fast!” approach of getting the student I was tutoring to respond to and do tasks as fast as possible. This change in style engaged the student and got him into gear! Hopefully I’ll be able to volunteer once or twice a month on Saturdays from now on.

I wasn’t really able to do any programming, but I did pick up a really interesting book called “But how do it know?”, a book explaining how computers work. So far I’ve only gotten to writing gates, where two trues equal a false, and all other combinations make a true. I’ll write about it when I finish it, but right now I think I need a nap! Cheers internet!

Leave a comment